Please help me visit my family!

Organized by: Monica Volz

Monica's Photo
Monica's Photo
Monica's Photo
Monica's Photo

EVENT DATE Jun 14, 2015


Hello, my name is Monica. I'm a college student at Bemidji State University going for my Business Administration degree with an emphasis in International Relations. Part of my degree requirements include going abroad and either teaching or taking classes. I chose to teach English as a second language in China.

I moved to California last May with my boyfriend of a year and a half after my first year of on-campus learning failed to work out socially. My grades were fine, but my floor mates were not as college oriented as I would have preferred. Now I'm taking 15 credits of online classes a semester and am 27 credits away from my degree!

While I'm loving the weather, I've come across financial hardship, being the only one in the household holding a job for seven months. My boyfriend lost his job due to a heart related medical condition and was not eligible for unemployment. I paid all of the bills thanks to scholarships and student loans, but was unable to save any emergency money. He just recently got a job, but I am still in the hole financially.

Now, I am preparing to go to China in July (expenses paid for by my overseas employer), but would like to visit my family before I fly out. Because we have a cat and a dog, my boyfriend and I plan on driving from Northern California to the middle of Minnesota (and then back to California) two weeks before flying out to see my family and attend a wedding.
It's a 1,900 mile, 27 hour long trip one way. When I made it from Minnesota to California, it cost a few hundred in gas one way, so I hope to raise $700 for gas, a cheap hotel, and car emergencies. If raised, any amount over $700 would go to my tuition, student loans, and visiting family in Romania.

A little about me:
-20 years old
-3rd degree black belt in American karate (practiced it for 10 years)
-Cat person
-Favorite books: Inheritance series, Harry Potter, and The Icemark Chronicles
-Favorite fast food is Taco Bell
-I'm a hardworking woman who has always had a stable job since 15 years old
-Born in Romania, but lived in MN since 2000 (saw my family for the first time in 13 years two summers ago when we visited Romania.)

Jobs I've held:
-Meat cutter for 3 years
-Martial Arts Instructor for 3 years
-J.C. Penney Jewelry Associate for 1 year
-Best Buy Computer Salesperson since October (current job)

Anything would help, and while I cannot currently give anything back, I plan on volunteering in the states and overseas after I get my degree.


Organized by

Monica Volz

This is a direct to organizer fundraiser.

Fundraise for this Campaign



Want to help Fundraise or Volunteer for this amazing Fundraiser? Join the Team

Donor Comments

Monica is still setting up this fundraiser so please check back so you can support Please help me visit my family!.

Report this page — Let Us Know if you think this page is breaking the law or the GoFundMe Charity Terms