Donate

tenderly by Ida Esmaeili [A Virtual Benefit for the New Sanctuary Coalition]

$9,100 of $10,000 goal
91% Complete

Event Details
tenderly by Ida Esmaeili [A Virtual Benefit for the New Sanctuary Coalition]

UPDATE!!!

tenderly played its final live performance on Saturday, December 12th at 7:00PM EST!

But FEAR NOT! We are streaming the Friday night performance for all ticket holders through Tuesday evening, December 15th! 

If you missed the live show, you can get access to the stream with a donation of ANY amount (minimum $10.) 

Just make your donation, and a link to the show will be sent to your email.

Thank you for your support of tenderly and New Sanctuary Coalition.

---

Join us for a night at the theatre to benefit New Sanctuary Coalition, a multi-faith immigrant-led organization that creates support systems for and empowers those navigating the immigration system. Our play, tenderly, is the story of an Iranian immigrant, written by an Swedish-Iranian immigrant, with a diverse cast and creative team bringing the story to life.

We're excited to partner with NSC, to raise funds to support immigrants - or as NSC calls them, our Friends - in our community.

The performances are being livestreamed online on Friday, December 11th and Saturday, December 12th at 7:00PM EST / 6:00PM CST / 5:00PM MST / 4:00PM PST.  

There will be talkbacks with the cast, creative team, and staff from New Sanctuary Coalition after both performances. All audience members are welcome and encouraged to attend the talkbacks. 

All donations are tax-deductible.  NSC is fiscally sponsored by Judson Memorial Church, a 501c3 nonprofit.

This event is sponsored by Jonathan Floodman & Davon Williams LLC.

Cast & Creative Team:

Director: Dana Iannuzzi

Stage Manager: R Christopher Maxwell

Alina: Sherz Aletaha

Will: Ryan Morales

Playwright: Ida Esmaeili

See More See Less

Story
About the play, tenderly

When Will’s professor leads him to seek out Alina’s insight for his paper on Iran, he has no idea that he will meet the love of his life. However, Alina’s visa renewal gets denied early in their relationship and suddenly the couple is faced with life-altering choices. tenderly, is the love story of an Iranian visual artist on an expiring student visa, and an American writer grappling with the imminent loss of his father. It is an examination of how immigration considerations can alter the course of families and relationships, and an attempt to ask the question, how far would you go, literally and metaphorically, for the person that you love?

Posted by Ryan Green