RESTORE OUR CHURCH WITH GRACE
We are temporarily pausing the campaign. Please stand by for updates of the next give-a-way.
Thank you for participating!
Every town green's church is the heart and soul of its community. It graces the surrounding area with its beauty and reminds us of our deeply rooted history. Once it is gone, it is gone forever.
The William Mason House has partnered with The Thompson Historical Society, Inc., to raise funds to repair the Congregational Church in Thompson, Connecticut.
About the William Mason House
Built in 1845 overlooking the historic Thompson Common, the William Mason House was the home of William Mason and his wife Lydia (Watson) Mason. Mr. Mason was one of three brothers who founded the nearby Masonville Mills, famous for its fine textile sheeting.
The founders of ANYA restaurant have taken on the completion of restoring the 1845 WMH, previously owned by the 'Prince of Chintz', designer Mario Buatta. This elegant country hotel and wedding venue is situated in the heart of the bucolic Northeast Connecticut Village of Thompson Hill, located 50 miles from Hartford and Boston, 35 miles from Providence and 20 miles from Worcester.
About the Thompson Historical Society (THS)
Since 1968, the Thompson Historical Society has worked to preserve the stories, history and artifacts of the founders of Thompson and others who lived in this Quiet Corner of Connecticut. With experience restoring local buildings of merit, and working with grant-making organizations such as the Connecticut State Historic Presevation Office (SHPO), the Last Green Valley and the 1772 Foundation to name a few, THS is working with the Mason House to raise funds for the restoration of the Congregational Church.
About the Thompson Congregational Church
Since 1730, there has been a Thompson Congregational Church standing on Thompson Hill. The current church, the third on Thompson Common, was erected in 1856, funded largely by mill owner William H. Mason and Joseph Gay.
The church has faced adversity before. In the Great 1938 Hurricane, the church lost its steeple. Following WWII and the Korean War, the church's steeple was finally replaced in 1961. Misfortune struck again when the steeple burned in 1987. The town rallied around the church and, with help from the community, the steeple was replaced and the Johnson Organ restored.
Each generation has its challenges. In December 2016, a few days after Christmas, fire broke out in the church. Firefighters from around the region worked tirelessly through the bitter cold and windy evening to save the church from destruction. Now, it is time to resurrect this iconic centerpiece of the community.
Presently, the church has been cleared of major debris and temporary walls have been installed to prevent further water damage. The State Historic Preservation Office has awarded a feasibility study preservation grant and historical architect Lyn Smith delivered a positive summary of the restoration potential of the church.
It is up to us now to jump start this campaign . With your $10 donation, we can save our Church.
Please copy and paste the link below into your browser to watch our video: