The Six Triple Eight Special Screening


Event Details
The Six Triple Eight Special Screening

 Join Foundation for Women Warriors  on Saturday, August 15th, 2020 from 4pm PT/7pm ET - 6pm PT/9pm ET for a special online screening of the Six Triple Eight documentary.

In February 1945, the U.S. Army sent 855 black women from the Women’s Army Corps (WACs) to England and France to clear the backlog of mail in the European Theater of Operations.  The 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion, known as the SixTripleEight, was the only all-black female battalion to serve in Europe during WWII.  Confronted with racism and sexism from their own leadership and troops, they served with honor and distinction completing their mission in six months.  By war’s end, the SixTripleEight had cleared over 17 million pieces of backlogged mail ensuring the troops stayed in touch with their loved ones back home.  The last of the women returned home in March 1946.   


They were never fully recognized…until now. 


Following the screening, Marine Veteran and FFWW Ambassador Keshia Javis-Jones will host a Q&A panel with The Six Triple Eight film producer Retired Army Master Sgt. Elizabeth Helm-Frazier, Retired Army Lt. Colonel Patricia Jackson-Kelley, and Alva Stevenson and Rosenda Moore daughters of the late Lydia Thornton Moore member of the Six Triple Eight. We are thrilled to have these guests field your questions.

See More See Less
When
Saturday August 15th
4pm PT/7pm ET - 6pm PT/9pm ET